Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve been spending the last wee while scribbling notes everywhere as I’m learning more and more about Horace Silver. It’s been such a weird experience, the person I’ve been studying so intently has just suddenly passed away. If you didn’t know, Horace Silver died just a few weeks ago on June 18th, one of the last jazz legends of his time. (I love that photo of him in the Guardian obituary!). I’ve put one of his poems at the end as a small tribute.

Anyway, tomorrow at 9pm I’ll be on Urban Jazz Radio chatting with Alison Rycroft about Horace, my favourite tunes and my forthcoming tour, so it will be great to really chat about it properly and get my head out the books! You can tune in online if you fancy a wee listen.

I’ve also finished booking the tour (I think!) and will be announcing all the dates in the next few weeks. I’m sooooo looking forward to getting on the road with some amazing tunes and talented musicians!!

I’ve not been to too many gigs in the last while, sadly, (too much time spent watching Wimbledon!) but I did manage to catch Anita Wardell, Tina May and Cleveland Watkiss at The Pheasantry performing together, and individually, as part of Anita’s Songsuite festival. It was so much fun and I just love listening to all 3 of them scatting, they’re so talented.

On a more depressing note, the Arts Council of England has decided to cut ALL of Jazz Services funding, which is horrific, and I’m not really sure how they can justify it. What’s lovely to see is how so many people are rallying together to fight this, so hopefully the decision can be reversed. The link here gives many ways in which you can help and show your support.

Anyway, that’s all for now! I shall leave you with the view of one of my gigs last month in Canterbury and Horace’s “I Speak Music”.

xx

Canterbury

I Speak Music by Horace Silver

I speak music, the international language
I speak and people everywhere understand me
I speak and people listen
I speak and people dance
I speak and people sing
I speak and people pat their feet and clap their hands.
Occasionally I speak and people cry; but more often when I speak I bring joy, happiness and uplift
I speak music, the universal language.
I speak and the universe speaks to me
I speak and the universe speaks through me
I speak music, the personal language of my soul
I seek music that will change the blues within my soul to a rhapsody
I speak the music of my thought
I speak the music of my word
I speak the music of my deed
I speak the music of my soul, which is continually being composed and de-composed, arranged and re-arranged so that it’s melody, harmony, and rhythm may be in accord with all people and the universe.

