Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I had such a fantastic time at this year’s London Jazz Festival, so I thought I’d write a few lines and share my experience with you.

On 18th November, I was very honoured to take to the stage at The Pheasantry (Pizza Express Live) on Kings Road as part of the London Jazz Festival, with a ridiculously amazing band – John Pearce (piano), Luke Steele (double bass), Steve Brown  (drums) and Brandon Allen (tenor sax). We performed songs from my album Fly, and the audience was just brilliant – enthusiastic and supportive, some of whom had come from out of town which was very humbling.

The Pheasantry is a fantastic live music venue and really suits jazz. I was lucky enough to be sent some fabulous photos the next day from Leslie Owensby – check a few them out here:

Pheasantry 3On stage doing my thang

Pheasantry 2The guys doing their thang

Pheasantry 1The crowd being amazing (and doing their thang)

Such a brilliant night! I can’t thank everyone enough for their support. Big love.

On the Saturday, 23rd, I then spent the afternoon at the Southbank Centre, rehearsing with the wonderful Cleveland Watkiss as part of his flashmob choir!! Definitely a first for me. We spent a few hours going over different ideas, and then at 5.30pm we went downstairs to the main area, the Clore Ballroom.

CloreThe unsuspecting crowd…

After Tim Whitehead had finished his show, we started performing and took everyone by surprise. It was so funny seeing everyone’s reactions, and lots of people in the building joined in.

Two completely different events but a great way to spend a week as part of the London Jazz Festival. Roll on 2014!!

xxx

