Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

So where do I begin?! So much has happened since my last post. Well, let’s start where I left off. After my last post I headed off to Lithuania to take part in a jazz vocal competition. It was definitely an experience, but a mixture of good, bad and downright confusing.I met some really lovely people who I hope to stay in touch with, and some of them were really great singers. It was lovely to be with so many singers together, all trying to make themselves heard in a world saturated with singers.

Klaipeda was very small and I didn’t take many photos, but one thing that caught my eye was the little bridge in the town where couples attached padlocks on their wedding day with their names inscribed on them.

After that I headed off to Milan to meet the rest of The Bellinis for our corporate function. What a blast we had! We didn’t have much time to really see Milan, but the event was fantastic and we went down a storm. We were treated really well, with great hotel rooms, transport and food. More of the same please!

Last month we also started a regular slot at Gordon Ramsay’s Bread Street Kitchen, which is going really well so far. We’ll also be playing at his York & Albany restaurant during the jubilee weekend.

Gig wise, things have been picking up for me which is fantastic news. I’ve been here 2 1/2 years now so hopefully it’s the start of things but only time will tell. I also have my very first gig on electric bass booked! It’s with the fantastic Lettie and I’m so pleased to be asked! Check out her blog here http://lettiemusic.wordpress.com/

I had a gig in lovely old Edinburgh at The Jazz Bar. Love playing there and had such a great night again. It was so busy and I got such fantastic feedback so it was quite encouraging. Here’s some video footage from the night

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27Kax8-9qnE

I’m desperate to get back in to songwriting but am struggling to find inspiration. There was a time when I found it quite easy but I seem to have lost my way somehow. Hopefully I will find my way back to it soon. Baby steps I suppose. I’m just trying to remember how I used to do it, but it’s all a little foggy at the moment. The one thing I do remember is that sitting in complete silence somehow always allowed my mind to start writing songs. I guess the silence gave my brain the chance to start putting things together and making music of its own, so perhaps I’ll try that again. The last song I wrote, I wrote sitting in the garden peacefully, and it started to write itself. I wonder if I have been listening to music enough recently for that to happen though.

Next Monday I have a gig with my favourite London jazz pianist at Massimo’s Oyster Bar so really excited and pleased about that! I’m going to try and sneakily record some of it so fingers crossed!

Onwards and upwards!

Until next time

xx

