Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Spring is here! (or it was for half the day, not sure if it will still be here tomorrow) so what better time of year to start blogging. I’ve also had a surprisingly busy start to the year which, as any musician will tell you, is unheard of. Hopefully things will keep up but I’ll just have to wait and see!

So I’m planning on updating this every week on a Monday, filling you in on the week just past. At the moment, I’m just trying to get my promo material in order, which started off with a video/recording session at The Vortex in Dalston. Grabbed a few of my very talented buddies (Gabriel Latchin, Jay Darwish, Andrea Marongiu and Alec Corona), booked the venue for a few hours (at a very reasonable rate of £15 per hour) and recorded 3 jazz standards. Lovely Matt Perks came all the way from Manchester to film it for us, which I’m dying to see! We finished mixing the audio yesterday and I’m really impressed with the sound quality. Would definitely recommend The Vortex to anyone looking to do a live recording.

Here we all are looking very pretty. Thank you to Gemma Ross for photo duties

Image

Gig wise, I had a lovely corporate jazz gig on Baker Street for the German Exhibition, with Gabriel and the wonderful Julian Bury on double bass duties. Great to play with these guys. The rest of the week musically speaking was just rehearsals.

Socially speaking, I popped down to the jam session at Nomad on Monday night (great musicians, but too quiet. Try and make it along if you’re free on a Monday night) and then toddled off to the late night jazz jam at Ronnie Scotts. Steve Brown, Leon Greening, Adam King and Henry AJ made for some amazing listening. The host with the most, Michael Mwenso, will be off to fresh pastures next week so interesting to see what will happen to the night. His shoes will be hard to fill! Did I do anything social that didn’t involve music? Em…. oh yes I went for dinner with my cousin and his fiancee, gorgeous wee cafe in Leicester Square called Bills. We then popped to the London Cocktail Bar where I had 2 Vespas and felt a tad dodgy after. It was worth it though!

So off to Ronnies I go again tonight. This week I’m playing a corporate gig at Harrods on Tuesday with my wee band The Bellinis (posh) and then a duo gig at the lovely Blind Tiger in Clapham on Thursday. I will hopefully have all the promo finished so I can get it out there.

Until next time.

Visit my website at www.louisedodds.com

